Welcome to my new web site, dedicated HomeLab with VMware ESXi.

For build my cluster for ESXi 5.1 and 5.5 work. 3 nodes 12 cores / 64Gb $1110

-3 OEM motherboards dual socket Supermicro H8DME-EX-LS006  on ebay

image

-CPUs 6 AMD Opteron 2419, 1.8GHz / 6 cores  on ebay

image

-Heatsink socket F

image

-RAM Micro 200Gb DDR2 ECC REG PC2-5300P MT36HTF51272PY-667E1 memory HP …. on ebay

image

-IPMI card ( optical ) , Supermicro AOC-SIMSO+  and on ebay

image

Total ( no Tax and delivery )  : $1109.66 / 817.98€
Tax and delivery for France : $437.23 / 322.31€

image

The following article will describe the motherboard, then the BIOS

This entry was posted in VMware and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Welcome to my new web site, dedicated HomeLab with VMware ESXi.

  1. Michael Barkdoll says:

    What case are you going to use?

  2. Michael Barkdoll says:

    Do you know if newegg has any cases that this motherboard would fit in? I’m looking for a cheap solution.

  3. Michael Barkdoll says:

    Can you link me one that you would recommend on ebay? Sorry, the board appears very large given your dimensions 33.20×42.1 cm and I can’t seem to find one on eBay that I’m sure supports it. I’m located here in the states. Awesome job on your chassis by the way! I love it!

  4. Michael Barkdoll says:

    Using it for VDI through Xen Server hopefully.

  5. Michael Barkdoll says:

    I look forward to your future plan box post 😀 I need to make one too !

  6. Michael Barkdoll says:

    Yes it is ECC registered. 🙂

  7. Great blog! I just bought two of these motherboards. What power supply did you use? Did it have 2 8 pin EPS connectors?

  8. Bas v Goor says:

    Thanks for the excellent information on these boards, inspired me to go out to get them for my own lab, question if i may, cooling is all done passive?

  9. Have you tried, or know about the other OEM board that is smaller?
    H8DME-2-LS006 ? http://www.ebay.com/itm/190854255341

  10. Have you tried 40 Watt ACP opteron 2419 EE part number OS2419NBS6DGN?
    75 Watt ACP OS2419WJS6DGN?

    Others like: 55 Watt 2423 HE?

  11. Andres says:

    Hi.
    J32 power connector is really necessary for correct booting up and SO load?
    Recently I’ve purchased this mobo with 16 x 4 gb of ram. When It starts to boot up, system hangs (during Windows installation). Esxi also halts during installation. near to boots up.

  12. Ian Reardon says:

    Hello Gregory,

    I am using this same motherboard for a similar project. Any chance I could ask you some questions?

    Ian

Leave a Reply

